1988 - 1995

The second NSW Liberal & National Government was elected in a landslide on 19 March 1988 under the leadership of Nick Greiner.

The 37th Premier and his Government quickly commenced its impressive legislative agenda, which John Fahey continued after he was sworn in as Premier following Nick Greiner’s resignation in June 1992.

The Greiner and Fahey Governments presided over a period of substantial structural reform which included industrial relations, state finances and micro-economic reform, and the establishment of the Independent Commission Against Corruption.

Some of the achievements of the Greiner and Fahey Governments included:

  • The establishment of Selective High Schools

  • Last payment on the Sydney Harbour Bridge

  • The successful bid for the Sydney 2000 Olympics

  • The appointment of the first Minister for the Status of Women

  • The launch of the NSW Senior’s Card and the abolition of compulsory retirement

  • The passage of the Disability Services Act to guarantee the rights of all disabled people in NSW

  • Establishing the Environment Protection Authority to protect and improve the State’s environment.

Nick Greiner

Learn More

John Fahey

Learn More